Our Team

Board of Directors

Stephen Barg, President

Kevin Gallagher,  Treasurer

Toby A. A. Heaps,  Director

Maria Leung,  Director

Arlyle Waring,  Director


Staff Members

Beatrice Olivastri, Chief Executive Officer, beatrice [at] foecanada.org

Karen Cartier, Administrator / Project Coordinator, kcartier [at] foecanada.org

Erik Stolpmann, Digital Communications, erik [at] foecanada.org

Beatrice Olivastri, CEO, Friends of the Earth Canada.

Beatrice Olivastri


Karen Cartier


Erik Stolpmann






Osgoode Environmental Justice and Sustainability Clinic

Nicole Daniel with Professor David Estrin, legal supervisor


Media and Strategy Advisors

Environmental Communications Options, Don Huff, President


Research Interns

Fall 2017

  • Andrea Lesperance (far right)
  • Jacqueline Mathers
  • Siham Tajeddine (second from left)

Winter 2017

  • Sofia Karabatsos
  • Rebecca Mereniji

Fall 2016

  • Harrison Briand
  • Sofia Karabatsos
  • Rebecca Merenyi
  • Dana Taylor

Spring 2016

  • Harrison Briand
  • Casson Foster
  • Sokina Joseph
  • Karmen Walther

Summer Students 2017 (Research & Outreach)

  • Harrison Briand
  • Frances Grace Fyfe
  • Mireille Gauthier
  • Shelby Gibson
  • Dana Taylor
  • Wade Theriault
  • David Van Olst
  • Andrea Lesperance
  • Eleanor A. Salter (international intern)


Summer Students 2016 (Research & Outreach)

  • Harrison Briand
  • Julie Cook
  • Frances Grace Fyfe
  • Mireille Gauthier
  • Nathalin Moy
  • Wade Theriault
  • David Van Olst


Michaëlle Jean Centre for Global and Community Engagement Université d’Ottawa

University of Ottawa awarded Friends of the Earth 2017 funding for its Bee Cause campaign under the TD Environmental Leader’s project.

The University of Ottawa student volunteers will work with Fletcher Wildlife Garden and Ottawa Community Housing Southern District to build teaching garden beds to support wild, native bees. The student volunteers include:

  • Mireille Gauthier, Team Leader
  • Malak Seoudi
  • Samantha Zabudsky
  • Julia Cary
  • Ramata Larissa Christina Tall
  • Jasmine Haghighi Saed
  • Simone Albert
  • Juliette Dekkers-Ross



Ouseley Hanvey Clipsham Deep LLP


We would like to extend our thanks to the dedicated volunteers who have helped us in the past, and everyone who is working with us currently to create a safer world for future generations.